News + Press

Study the neural basis of attention with us (and our science friends)!

We would like to encourage potential graduate students to apply to a new multi-university research consortium whose goal is to investigate the neural bases of attention in both human and non-human primate brains. Details can be found here and here.

We have 15 graduate student positions that will begin in September 2017, to be funded by a new NSF EPSCoR grant on the neural basis of attention, shared among 14 faculty members at Dartmouth College, Brown University, Montana State University and the University of Reno at Nevada. These incoming 15 graduate students will form a cohort over their four or five years of PhD training, and will collaborate in a number of ways, including spending time in other faculty members' labs, having co-mentors across institutions, interacting with industry and educational outreach efforts, and having regular virtual and in-person meetings across institutions, which will foster collaboration among our institutions, labs, and the broader communities in our four states.

Applicants should apply through the normal graduate school channels of any of the universities next month, but should indicate in their personal statement that they are interested in participating in this consortium of researchers focused on the neural basis of attention. Potential graduate students are encouraged to contact individual faculty members with whom they might want to work, and to meet them at the upcoming Society for Neuroscience meeting, if they are attending.

The 14 faculty members include:

Dartmouth College, Hanover NH [APPLY]
Peter Tse (PI, human fMRI, EEG, psychophysics)
Patrick Cavanagh (human fMRI, EEG, psychophysics)
Barbara Jobst (human ECoG, human neurophysiology)
Alireza Soltani (modeling of attentional circuitry)
Jeremy Manning (human fMRI, EEG, ECoG, computational models)
Farran Briggs (non-human primate neurophysiology corticothalamic circuitry)

Brown University, Providence RI [APPLY]
David Sheinberg (co-PI; non-human primate neurophysiology ventral temporal)
Theresa Desrochers (non-human primate neurophysiology, fMRI)
Barry Connors (rodent neurophysiology corticothalamic circuitry)

Montana State University, Bozeman MT [APPLY]
Charlie Gray (co-PI) (non-human primate neurophysiology)
Behrad Noudoost (non-human primate neurophysiology)
Jamie Mazer (non-human primate neurophysiology)

University of Nevada at Reno [APPLY]
Gideon Caplovitz (co-PI; human MRI, EEG, psychophysics)
Marian Berryhill (human fMRI, EEG, psychophysics)